Tuesday, May 28, 2019

Buckholts HS Sports Banquet 2019

The annual Buckholts High School Sports Banquet was held Tuesday, May 21, 2019. After a super meal of spaghetti and trimmings provided by Ginnos Italian Restaurant in Cameron, the Athletic Department awarded the Board of Trustees with custom polo shirts.

Board President Adam Losoya accepts his shirt
from Coach Michelle Mach.
Then the athletic teams and coaches were recognized.

2018-19 Football Team with Coach Justin Lookingbill and
 AD/Head Coach James Shelton
Individual football honors went to:
          Omar Robles - Most Improved Player
          Kenneth Shelton - Defensive MVP
          Luis Torres - Offensive MVP
          Caleb Lopez - Newcomer of the Year
          Eric Salomon - Most Valuable Player

Additionally, selected by the Texas Six-Man Coaches Association to the 2018-2019 All Region Football Teams were:
         Kenneth Shelton - 2nd Team Region 4 - Offense
         Luis Torres - 1st Team Region 4 - Offense
         Eric Salomon - 1st Team Defense & 2nd Team Offense - Region 4 

The High School Volleyball Team of 2018-19 with Head Coach
Michelle Mach and Coach Luis Sierra.

Individual volleyball recognition went to:
          Whitney Evans - Most Improved Player
          Carley Lorenz - Newcomer of the Year
          Elizabeth Trdy - Offensive MVP
          Natalie Avila - Defensive MVP
          Julissa Cardona - Most Valuable Player

The 2018-19 Boys Basketball Team with Coach Shelton.
Receiving individual awards for Boys Basketball were:
          Jacob Cazares - Most Improved Player
          Zachry Hafly - Newcomer of the Year
          Eric Salomon - Offensive MVP
          Chris Lopez - Defensive MVP
          Caleb Lopez - Most Valuable Player

Head Coach Luis Sierra and Coach Michelle Mach
with the 2018-19 Girls Basketball Team.
Accepting individual awards in Girls Basketball were:
          Meykala Moore - Most Improved Player
          Elizabeth Trdy & Ashlynne Kessler - Newcomer of the Year
          Hailey Cazares - Offense MVP
          Marissa Labrada - Defensive MVP
          Julissa Cardona - Most Valuable Player plus Julissa was named to the 2018-19 2nd
                                         Team All Region Basketball by the Texas Six-Man Coaches

The Cross Country Team of 2018-19 with Coaches Sierra & Mach
Whitney Evans received the Cross Country Girls Team MVP, and
Chris Lopez received the MVP award for the Cross Country Boys Team.

Coaches Sierra and Mach with the Boys and Girls Track Teams.
Individual honors for track:
          David Lansford - Boys Team Most Improved Player
          Zachary Hafly - Boys Team Most valuable Player
          Ashlynne Kessler - Girls Team Most Improved Player
          Julissa Cardona - Girls Team Most Valuable Player

Sherry Lopez received the Badger Fan award for 2018-19.

Hailey Cazares was named "Mrs. BHS" for 2018-19.

"Holding on" to the Mr. BHS award of 2018-19 is Juan Melendez.
All the photos from the banquet - - > >  BHS Sports Banquet 2019